02/07/2014 – Minister Deenihan announces new chair and committee members for Culture Ireland Expert Advisory Committee

Jimmy Deenihan, T.D., Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, today (July 2nd) announced the appointment of Mary McCarthy as the new Chair of the Culture Ireland Expert Advisory Committee (EAC).  Two new members – John Given and Josephine Kelliher – have also been appointed to the Committee.

Ms. McCarthy is already a member of the EAC and she will replace outgoing Chair, Professor Micheál Ó Súilleabháin.

Minister Deenihan thanked Professor Ó Súilleabháin for his outstanding dedication and contribution to promoting Irish arts abroad.

“Micheál has been at the heart of Culture Ireland since its inception in 2005. He helped to bring about major programmes such as Imagine Ireland, a year of Irish Arts in America in 2011 and Culture Connects, the culture programme which celebrated Ireland’s Presidency of the Council of the European Union in 2013”.

Congratulating Ms McCarthy on her appointment, Minister Deenihan said:

Mary brings a wealth of experience in international arts promotion which will help ensure the maximum impact in presenting Ireland’s world class artistic imagination across the world.



Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service