04/09/2011 Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Jimmy Deenihan T.D. announces the appointment of the new Chairman and Board of the National Concert Hall

Jimmy Deenihan TD, Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, is pleased to announce that he has appointed Mr. Kieran Tobin as the new Chairman of the National Concert Hall.  Mr. Tobin’s appointment has been made following his appearance before the Joint Committee on the Environment, Transport, Culture and the Gaeltacht and has been approved by the Government.  Mr. Tobin has worked for Irish Distillers in a number of roles and has gained very significant business and commercial experience and knowledge, particularly in the area of sales, marketing and sponsorship.  He is also the current Chairman of the Drinks Industry Group of Ireland.  Most importantly he has a wide range of musical interests.

Minister Deenihan is also delighted to announce the appointment of the new Board of the National Concert Hall.  The new Board members are as follows:
Ms. Dearbhla Collins, Mr. John McGrane, Ms. Laurie Cearr, Ms. Gina Menzies, Mr. Bruce Arnold, Ms. Margaret Ryan, Mr. Ray Bates, Ms. Alma Hynes, Ms. Artemis Kent, Ms. Deborah Kelleher, Mr. Peter McEvoy, Mr. Pat Heneghan, Ms. Rachel Holstead and Ms. Patricia Slavin.

Minister Deenihan said “The National Concert Hall is one of our most visited National Cultural Institutions. In this its 30 anniversary year I am delighted to appoint a new Chair and Board who collectively will bring a range of expertise and skill sets ensuring its continued success in the future.”

“It is a great honour to be appointed Chairman of the National Concert Hall, by Mr. Jimmy Deenihan, Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht. The National Concert  Hall is  one of Ireland’s foremost cultural institutions, providing the best of music performance,  and facilitating innovative music and education projects. Along with my newly appointed colleagues on the Board, I look forward to working energetically with the wonderful Management team and staff of the National Concert Hall,” said newly appointed Chair Kieran Tobin.

The appointment of the New Board of the National Concert Hall follows the advertisement for Expressions of Interest in becoming a member of the Board last May.  The Minister was delighted with the enthusiastic response to this advertisement and  thanked all those who expressed an interest in becoming a member of the Board noting that there was no financial reimbursement available to serving board members.

Biographies of new Board National Concert Hall

Kieran Tobin, Chairman: Communications and Corporate Affairs Director, Irish Distillers. Current Chairman of the Drinks Industry Group of Ireland.

Dearbhla Collins: Piano Teacher and vocal coach, regarded as one of Ireland’s finest and most versatile musicians.  Currently artistic administrator to the prestigious Veronica Dunne Singing Competition

John McGrane: Head of Product and Service Sales, Ulster Bank Ireland Limited. Vice-President Dublin Chamber of Commerce, also a Director on the Board of Music Network.

Laurie Cearr: General Manager, Music in Great Irish Houses.  Member of the Board of the Royal Irish Academy of Music and the Opera theatre company.

Gina Menzies: Lecturer in Medical Ethics, Royal College of Surgeons.  Member of the Motor Neurone Disease Research Foundation.  Has a broad interest in the arts encompassing music, literature and theatre.

Bruce Arnold: Art Critic and  Journalist.  Former Chairman and Director of the National College of Art and Design and former member of the Board of Governors and Guardians of the National Gallery of Ireland.

Margaret Ryan: Marketing Practitioner, Managing Director Margaret Ryan Marketing.

Ray Bates: Former Director, National Lottery. Member Board Feis Ceoil.  Honorary President of the European State Lottery Association.  Great personal interest in the arts.

Alma Hynes: Head of volunteer Department for the Wexford Opera Festival

Artemis Kent: Director, Greystones Youth Orchestra & Head of Music at the Bray Institute of Further Education and widely travelled Pianist.

Deborah Kelleher: Director, Royal Irish Academy of Music and member of the Arts Council Peer Review Committee.

Peter McEvoy: Project management consultant and worked on assignments in 25 countries internationally. He is also currently a part-time staff member in Dublin City University. He was formerly Treasurer of Music for Galway and has previous experience as a Director of NCH during the period 1996-2001.

Pat Heneghan: Public Relations Consultant, former member of the Board of National Concert Hall during the 1990’s.

Rachel Holstead:  (Re-appointment) Music Consultant and freelance composer.  Music adviser to the Arts Council and member of the Board of the National Concert Hall 2006.

Patricia Slavin: (Re appointment) Principal Darndale Junior NS. Qualified ballet teacher from the Royal Academy London

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service