16/06/2014 Notices published by Minister of State for the Gaeltacht regarding the Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas

Minister of State at the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Dinny McGinley T.D., today (16 June 2014) announced that he has published 6 notices under the Gaeltacht Act 2012 regarding the Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas. The areas in question are:

  • Na Déise, Co. Waterford.
  • Ciarraí Theas, Co. Kerry
  • An Cheathrú Rua, Co. Galway
  • Ceantar na nOileán, Co. Galway
  • Cloich Chionnaola, Gort an Choirce, An Fál Carrach and Machaire Rabhartaigh, Co. Donegal
  • Dún na nGall Theas, Co. Donegal


The Minister of State said:

I’m delighted to publish a further 6 notices today under section 7(3) of the Gaeltacht Act 2012. These notices officially commence the language planning process in these areas. This is another step forward in the implementation of the language planning process in the Gaeltacht.”


As with the notices relating to the first three Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas which were published in December 2013, a period of up to 2 months from 16 June will be given to organisations to apply to Údarás na Gaeltachta for selection as organisations to prepare and implement a language plan in those areas. A period of up to 2 years will be given from the date on which Údarás na Gaeltachta selects the organisation to submit a language plan to the Department for assessment in line with the prescribed language planning criteria.

Following that, the organisations will have a period of 7 years to implement the language plans with assistance from Údarás na Gaeltachta. The Department will periodically review the implementation of the plans during the 7 year period.

With regard to the Gaeltacht Service Towns, the Minister of State said:

I’d like to take this opportunity to draw attention to the consultation process being undertaken by my Department to select the most appropriate towns to be recognised under the Gaeltacht Act as Gaeltacht Service Towns. Suggestions can be submitted to my Department between now and 20 June.

Further information on the language planning process is available at https://www.chg.gov.ie/gaeltacht/20-year-strategy-for-the-irish-language-2010-2030/language-planning-process/.



Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service