20/12/2013 – Notices published for Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas by Minister of State for the Gaeltacht

Friday, 20th December—The Minister of State at the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Dinny McGinley, T.D., today announced that he has published the first notices in respect of the following Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas:

  • Ciarraí Thiar;
  • Cois Fharraige; and
  • Gaoth Dobhair, Rann na Feirste, Anagaire and Loch an Iúir.

“I am delighted to announce that I have published the first three notices under section 7(3) of the Gaeltacht Act 2012. These notices officially mark the beginning of the language planning process on the ground in these areas,” said Minister McGinley.

Organisations will be given up to 2 months from 16 January 2014 to apply to Údarás na Gaeltachta to be selected to prepare and implement language plans in the areas. The Department will publish language planning guidelines under the Act on the same day.

Organisations will be given up to 2 years, from the date on which Údarás na Gaeltachta selects the organisations, to submit a language plan to the Department for approval in line with the prescribed language planning criteria.

After that, organisations will be given 7 years to implement the language plans with assistance from Údarás na Gaeltachta. The Department will periodically review the implementation of the plans during the 7 year period.

“Now that the language planning process has been officially initiated in 3 Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas, I am hopeful that a further 10 notices will be published in respect of 10 other areas next year with the remainder to follow thereafter,” said Minister McGinley.


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service