22/06/2012 Deenihan allocates €712,000 to protect vulnerable structures

Deenihan allocates €712,000 to protect vulnerable structures

• €500,000 allocation through Structures at Risk Fund for 41 projects nationwide
• €212,000 allocation for specific conservation works at St Fin Barre’s Cathedral, Cork

Friday, June 22nd – Jimmy Deenihan TD, Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, has announced funding of €712,000 to support the conservation and protection of a range of important heritage buildings across Ireland.

A total of €500,000 is available within 2012 for the Structures at Risk Fund, and this is allocated to assist with works to safeguard structures, in private and civic ownership, protected under the Planning and Development Acts 2000-2011.  This year, 41 projects in 27 local authority areas are being supported.

In addition, an allocation of €212,000 has been announced to progress specific conservation works at St Fin Barre’s Cathedral, Cork.  This allocation is being made from the Special Projects Fund which supports conservation work to buildings which are deemed to be of significant special interest.

Minister Deenihan commented:

“I am pleased to announce support for 41 conservation projects through the Structures at Risk Fund. While funding available for this work has been reduced in recent years, it is still very important that we recognise that the conservation, preservation and restoration of our built heritage has an economic, cultural and aesthetic benefit.

“Our built heritage is a real national asset and is a significant factor in attracting visitors to Ireland.  Visitors who are now more important than ever for the employment they support and the financial benefits they bring to local economies throughout Ireland.”

Minister Deenihan has also welcomed the funding for St Fin Barre’s Cathedral:

“Dating from the 1860s, St Fin Barre’s is a recorded monument, a protected structure, and is rated as being of international importance in the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage. I am delighted to be able to contribute towards conservation works at St Fin Barre’s.”


Details: Projects to be grant assisted are listed hereunder:

Table 1: Grant offers by County under Structures at Risk Fund 2012

SRF No: Local Authority: Project: Amount Offered €
49/12 Carlow County Council Borris House, Borris 7,000
62/12 Cavan County Council Cavan Parish Church, Farnham Street, Cavan Town 7,500
63/12 Cavan County Council St. Mary’s Church, Crosserlough 7,500
53/12 Clare County Council Byrnes Shop, Parliament Street, Ennistymon 10,000
32/12 Cork City Council 61 Shandon Street, Cork 10,000
17/12 Cork County Council Alms House, Glanmire 15,000
50/12 Dublin City Council 65 & 66 Mountjoy Square, Dublin 1 15,000
51/12 Dublin City Council Abbey Presbyterian Church, Parnell Square, Dublin 1 15,000
45/12 Fingal County Council Glasshouse of Ardgillan, Ardgillan 15,000
39/12 Galway City Council Ballinfoyle, Headford Road, Galway 7,000
10/12 Kerry County Council Castleview House, Castleisland 10,000
11/12 Kerry County Council Glanleam House, Glanleam, Valentia Island 10,000
23/12 Kildare County Council Monasterevin Charter School, Monasterevin 45,000
24/12 Kildare County Council Clane Friary Walls, Abbeylands, Clane 10,000
07/12 Leitrim County Council Manorhamilton Castle, Castle Street, Manorhamilton 4,000
46/12 Limerick City Council Irish Town Medieval House, O’Currys Street, Limerick 15,000
30/12 Limerick County Council The Old Church of Ireland, Caherconlish 10,000
42/12 Longford County Council St. Catherine’s Church of Ireland, Ballymacormick 5,000
43/12 Longford County Council Former St. Mary’s Cistercian Abbey, Abbeyshrule 5,000
08/12 Louth County Council Rokeby Hall, Grangebellew 10,000
09/12 Louth County Council Essexford Glebe 9,500
14/12 Mayo County Council Foxford Parish Church, Foxford 10,000
15/12 Mayo County Council Milford House, Kilmaine 10,000
35/12 Meath County Council Annesbrook, Duleek 15,000
36/12 Meath County Council St. Patrick’s Classical School, Navan 20,000
21/12 North Tipperary County Council Ardcroney Church and Castle, Ardcroney 15,000
22/12 North Tipperary County Council Lisbunny Church, Lisbunny 10,000
01/12 Offaly County Council Former Estate Workers Cottage, Geashill 10,000
02/12 Offaly County Council Annabrook House, Shinrone 15,000
18/12 Roscommon County Council Killinovoy, Knockcroghery 10,000
19/12 Roscommon County Council Stations of the Cross memorials, St. Colman’s graveyard, Ardsallagh Beg 8,000
60/12 Sligo County Council Ahamlish Church of Ireland, Grange 10,000
03/12 South Tipperary County Council Cappawhite Church, Chapel Street, Cappawhite 15,000
20/12 South Tipperary County Council The Thosel, Main Street, Fethard 25,500
05/12 Waterford City Council Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity, Barronstrand, Waterford 20,000
27/12 Waterford County Council Curraghmore Courtyard Phase 2, Curraghmore, Portlaw 10,000
28/12 Waterford County Council Kilronan Church, Ballymacarby, 15,000
38/12 Westmeath County Council Market Square, Kilbeggan 10,000
54/12 Wexford County Council Mountgarret Castle, Mountgarret, New Ross 15,000
40/12 Wicklow County Council Aghowle Cottage, Aghowle, Ashford 7,000
41/12 Wicklow County Council Carnew Castle, Carnew 7,000
Total:   500,000

Table 2: Special Projects Fund 2012

St Fin Barre’s Cathedral, Bishop Street, Cork – €212,000

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service