Dinny McGinley TD Minister of State at the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht today (Tuesday 29th June, 2011) congratulated Donegal County Museum in achieving full accreditation in the Museum Standards of Ireland Awards. The Minister of State’s colleague Minister Jimmy Deenihan TD presented the award to representatives of Donegal County Museum at an awards ceremony held in the Royal College of Physicians, Kildare Street, Dublin 2.

This important programme was developed by the Heritage Council in consultation with the Irish museums sector and in keeping with best international practice. The initiative aims to raise standards across a wide range of areas, promote the care and welfare of collections and also to enhance co-operation between Irish museums. The voluntary programme, has attracted involvement from across the cultural spectrum from national institutions to small, volunteer led organisations.

Dinny McGinley said “Donegal County Museum has participated in the Programme from the outset through the Pilot Study 10 years ago.  Realising its ambition to finally move from interim accreditation to full accreditation has required a great deal of tenacity and determination not to mention the support of Donegal County Council.  Today is a hugely important milestone for the Museum. It has put in place among other standards, formal education and exhibition policies as well as a disaster plan for the museum.  It also had to demonstrate that all interim standards had been maintained since 2007.”

There are currently fifty museums participating, at various stages in the programme, home to diverse and important collections, for example the collections held by the Chester Beatty Library, Dublin; the GAA Museum at Croke Park; the Hunt Museum in Limerick; and the National Gallery of Ireland of local, regional, national and international significance.

Dinny Mc Ginley also said “I am delighted to see Donegal County museum join with Farmleigh and the GAA Museum at Croke Park in receiving this full acknowledgment and accreditation”. 

Also presented with interim accreditation were Drogheda Museum Milmount, the Lewis Glucksman Gallery, the Museum of Free Derry and Rothe House Museum in Kilkenny.


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service