Information About the Department of Arts, Heritage & the Gaeltacht


Functions of the Department

Structure, Roles and Responsibilities of the Department

Governance and Management Arrangements

Agencies and Bodies under the Department’s Aegis

Locations and Contacts

Establishment of Organisation

The Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht was established on 1st June 2011 on foot of the reorganisation of Government Departments announced by the Taoiseach in March 2011, bringing together functions from the former Department of Tourism, Culture and Sport, the Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government and the Department of Community, Equality and Gaeltacht Affairs.

The Department oversees and has policy responsibility for the conservation, preservation, protection, development and presentation of Ireland’s heritage and cultural assets. The Department also seeks to promote the Irish language and to support the Gaeltacht. The key functions under its remit include:

  • Arts, Culture, Film and Music, as well as oversight of Ireland’s cultural institutions;
  • Ireland’s Built and Natural Heritage;
  • the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands; and
  • North/South Co-operation insofar as it relates to Waterways Ireland, An Foras Teanga and the wider functions of the Department.

Classes of Records Held

Corporate Plans and Strategies

Corporate Publications

Other Links

Organisation and Pay/Grading Structures

Customer Charter and Action Plan

Legislation underpinning the Department’s Functions


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service