Minister Josepha Madigan T.D.

Portrait of Minister Josepha Madigan

Josepha Madigan was appointed as Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht on 30th November 2017. Josepha is the sole Fine Gael T.D. for Dublin Rathdown.

Following her election to the Dáil for the first time in 2016, Josepha was appointed to the Fine Gael Government Formation negotiation team by former-Taoiseach Enda Kenny. Prior to her appointment as Minister, Josepha served on the Oireachtas Public Accounts Committee, the Future of Healthcare Committee, and was the Chairperson of the Budgetary Oversight Committee.

She was a Fine Gael Councillor for the Stillorgan Ward on Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, from May 2014 until her election as a T.D.

Josepha practiced as a solicitor for twenty years. She won Family Lawyer of the year at the Irish Law Awards 2014. Josepha is also an author of a handbook for family lawyers and their clients entitled “Appropriate Dispute Resolution in Ireland” (Jordan Publishing, 2012).

She studied at Mount Anville School, Trinity College Dublin and Blackhall Place. Josepha has lived in the Stillorgan Ward all her life. Married with two children, her family has deep roots in the community.

Josepha is a strong advocate of responsible governance and prudent spending. Josepha believes in a society that is progressive and creative but also in a government that is careful with tax-payers money and focused on building sound economic policies that make work pay.

Government Chief Whip and Minister of State with responsibility for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands, Seán Kyne TD

Portrait of Minister Josepha Madigan

Seán Kyne TD is Government Chief Whip and Minister of State at the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht with responsibility for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands.

He previously served as Minister of State at the Department of Rural and Community Development and the Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment with responsibility for Natural Resources, Community Affairs, and Digital Development up to October 2018. He previously served as Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs and Natural Resources in May 2016.

As a TD he has served on the Oireachtas Committee on Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, as Vice Chair of the Oireachtas Committee on European Union Affairs, and as Chairman of the Fine Gael Committee on Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht.

A native of Moycullen, Co. Galway, Minister of State Seán Kyne attended St. Mary’s College in Galway City before attaining a primary degree and Master’s degree in Agricultural Science at NUI, Galway and UCD respectively. For over a decade Minister of State Kyne worked as an agri-environmental consultant with particular responsibility for Rural Environmental Protection.

From 2004 – 2011 Minister of State Kyne served as a member of Galway County Council and since 2011 represents the constituency of Galway West and Mayo South in Dáil Éireann.

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service