Designated Public Officials

The Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 which came into effect on 1 September 2015 provides that the Standards in Public Office Commission will establish and maintain an online Register of lobbying activity.  www.lobbying.ie.

The purpose of the Register is to make information available to the public on the identity of those communicating with designated public officials on specific policy, legislative matters or prospective decisions.  Lobbyists must report on their interactions with the Designated Public Officials.

Section 6(4) of the Act requires each public body to publish a list of designated public officials of the body.  The purpose of the list is twofold:

  1. To allow members of the public identify those persons who are designated public officials; and
  2. As a resource for lobbyists filing a return to the Register who may need to source a designated public official’s details.

The Designated Public Officials of the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht under this legislation are:


Josepha Madigan T.D., Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht ministers.office@chg.gov.ie

Seán Kyne T.D., Government Chief Whip and Minister of State with responsibility for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands airestait@chg.gov.ie

Minister’s Advisers

John Keogh, Adviser to Minister Madigan, john.keogh@chg.gov.ie 

Cian Connaughton, Adviser to Minister Madigan, cian.connaughton@chg.gov.ie

Management Board

Katherine Licken, Secretary General katherine.licken@chg.gov.ie

Conor Falvey, Assistant Secretary with responsibility for Arts, Culture, Film & Music Conor.Falvey@chg.gov.ie

Niall Ó Donnchú, Assistant Secretary with responsibility for Built and Natural Heritage Niall.Odonnchu@chg.gov.ie

Patricia Murphy, Assistant Secretary with responsibility for Corporate Affairs Patricia.A.Murphy@chg.gov.ie

Aodhán Mac Cormaic, Stiúrthóir na Gaeilge aodhan.maccormaic@chg.gov.ie

Tania Banotti, Director Creative Ireland Programme tania.banotti@chg.gov.ie


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service