National Famine Commemoration

The National Famine Commemoration Committee was first established in 2008 following a Government decision to commemorate the Great Irish Famine with an annual national famine memorial day. The Committee is chaired by Heather Humphreys T.D., Minister for Culture, Heritage and the  Gaeltacht and is made up of representatives from the Department of Education and Skills, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Defence, representatives from the Defence Forces, Department of An Taoiseach, Irish Aid, representatives from Trócaire and Gorta, historians, the National Museum of Ireland and other interested parties.

Details of the work of the National Famine Commemoration Committee are available on the website http://www.irishfamine.ie/


National Famine Commemoration 2017

The 2017 National Famine Commemoration will take place on Saturday, 30th September 2017 at the Famine Warhouse 1848, Ballingarry, County Tipperary.


National Famine Commemoration 2016

The 2016 National Famine Commemoration took place on Sunday, 11th September at Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin. The Event was led by President Michael D. Higgins who unveiled a Celtic Cross donated by the Glasnevin Trust to act as a permanent memorial to the victims of the Famine. The text of the President’s address is available here


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service