Designated Museums

Under Section 68 (2) of the National Cultural Institutions Act, 1997 the Director of the National Museum of Ireland may, with Ministerial consent, designate local museums as appropriate places for the curatorial care of State owned archaeological objects that are predominately of local rather than national interest.

The following museums have received designated status:

Carlow County Museum
Cavan County Museum
Clare County Museum
Cork Public Museum
Donegal County Museum
Kerry County Museum
Galway City Museum
Limerick Museum
Louth County Museum, Dundalk
Monaghan County Museum
Tipperary South County Museum
Waterford Museum of Treasures

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service