Minister of State McHugh announces new board of Údarás na Gaeltachta

Chief Whip and Minister of State with responsibility for the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands, Joe McHugh, T.D., has announced the new board of Údarás na Gaeltachta today (12 January 2018). Anna Ní Ghallachair, Director of the Languages Centre in the National University of Ireland, Maynooth, has been reappointed as Chairperson of the board along with ten other members. In accordance with the Gaeltacht Act 2012, four members were appointed to the board on foot of nominations by County Councils with a Gaeltacht region as part of their operational area. The remaining appointments, including the reappointment of the Chairperson, were made on foot of a process overseen by the Public Appointments Service (PAS) which facilitated applications from the public.

The Minister of State said that he was pleased to announce the appointments and that he is confident that the new board of Údarás na Gaeltachta will undertake their duties with diligence and determination. “The Board will undoubtedly face new challenges in relation to the further development of enterprise, employment, language planning and community development within the Gaeltacht. I am confident, however, that given the board’s collective abilities and skill-sets that the board, under the chairmanship of Anna Ní Ghallachair, will meet those challenges over the coming five years will greatly support the work of An tÚdarás. I would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the valuable contribution made to the work of the Údarás by the previous board which they effectively discharged on behalf of and to the benefit of Gaeltacht communities”.

Details of the members of the new board are as follows:


Anna Ní Ghallachair

Director, Languages Centre, National University of Ireland, Maynooth. Originally from Árainn Mhór, Co. Donegal.

Members appointed on foot of nominations from Donegal, Mayo and Galway County Council respectively:

John Shéamuis Ó Fearraigh

Bun an Leaca, Leitir Ceanainn, Co. Donegal. County Councillor. Nominated by Donegal County Council.

Seán Mac Congamhna

 Bóthar Bhéal Átha na Muice, Cill Cheallaigh, Co. Mayo. County Councillor. Nominated by Mayo County Council.

Séamus Walsh

Glann, Uachtar Ard, Co. Galway. County Councillor. Nominated by Galway County Council.

Séamus Cosaí Mac Gearailt

Na Gleannta, An Daingean, Co. Kerry. County Councillor and former member of the board of Údarás na Gaeltachta. Nominated by Kerry County Council.

 Members appointed on foot of the PAS process

 Eunan Mac Cuinneagáin

Bóthar Glinne, An Charraig Co. Dhún na nGall.

Ian Mac Aindriú

Bóthar Bhéal an Fheadha, Béal an Mhuirthead, Béal an Átha Co. Mhaigh Eo

Seosamh Ó Laoi

Baile an tSagairt, An Spidéal, Co na Gaillimhe

Mary Uí Chadhain

Gabhla, Caiseal, Conamara, Co na Gaillimhe

 Siobhán Seoighe

Doire Longáin, Átha Buí, Co na Mí

 Debra Ní Shúilleabháin

Ceapach na gCrann, Maistir Gaoithe, Cill Airne, Co Chiarraí


Editor’s Note

Under the Gaeltacht Act 2012, Údarás na Gaeltachta has a board of twelve members. Seven of whom are appointed by the Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, including the Chairperson while the remaining five members are nominated by the relevant local authorities, with Gaeltacht areas under their operational areas.

In accordance with the provisions of the Act, the remaining 12th member is nominated by the relevant local authorities on foot of a rotational arrangement which lasts 2 years and which applies to the Gaeltacht areas of Meath, Waterford and Cork.  In accordance with this arrangement, Máire Seosaimhín Breathnach, the nomination of Waterford County Council remains on the new board until the 14th February 2019.

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service