€110,330 sanctioned for the GAA’s Comhairle Chonnacht for a football, hurling and handball training sheme to be delivered on behalf of the Department for the 2017/2018 school year.

Joe McHugh T.D., Government Chief Whip and Minister of State for the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands, announced today that he has sanctioned a grant of up to €110,330 for the GAA’s Comhairle Chonnacht to enable them to run a Football, Hurling and Handball Training Course for the 2017/2018 school year in certain schools in the Conamara Gaeltacht and in Tuar Mhic Éadaigh.

The Minister of State said that he is pleased that his Department is in a position to provide Comhairle Chonnacht with this assistance to make language acquisition and enrichment opportunities available through sports programmes in certain primary and post-primary schools in the Connacht Gaeltacht. “As a result of the valuable work of Comhairle Chonnacht under this scheme over the past number of years, young people in the Gaeltacht have been given the opportunity to use and enrich their Irish in a fun sports environment,” the Minister said.

This funding is being provided under the 20-Year Strategy for the Irish Language 2010-2030.

 Note to editor

Instructors visit schools in the Conamara Gaeltacht, Árainn and Tuar Mhic Éadaigh teaching the pupils football, hurling and handball skills through Irish. The scheme is in operation in 36 primary schools and 10 post-primary schools.


Schools under the Comhairle Chonnachta CLG administration – 2017/2018


School Name Reference No. of Language Planning Area
Primary Schools
S.N. Thuar Mhic Éadaigh 09
S.N. Mhuire, An Tuairín, An Cheathrú Rua 13
S.N. Mhic Dara, An Cheathrú Rua 13
S.N. Seamus Naofa, Bearna 18
Gaelscoil Mhic Amhlaigh 18
S.N. Bhríde, Leitir Caladh 12
S.N. Cholm Cille, Leitir Móir 12
S.N. Rónáin, An Trá Bán 12
S.N. Tír an Fhia, Leitir Móir 12
S.N. Leitir Mealláin 12
S.N. Sailearna, Indreabhán 16
S.N. Cholm Cille, Ros an Mhíl 13
S.N. na bhForbacha 16
S.N. Cholmcille, An Tulach 16
S.N. Éinne, An Spidéal 16
S.N.  an Aird Mhóir, Carna 14
S.N. Muire Gan Smál, Camus 14
S.N. Mhuire, Turloch Beag 14
S.N. na hAirde Thiar, Carna 14
S.N. Bhriocáin, Rosmuc 14
S.N.  Naomh Ciarán, Cill Chiaráin 14
S.N. Cholmáin, Muigh Inis 14
S.N.  Mhuire, Carna 14
S.N. Naomh Pádraig, An Chloch Bhreac 15
S.N. an Fhairche 15
S.N. Mhuire, Cor na Mona 15
S.N. Tír na Cille, An Mám 15
S.N. Bhaile Nua, Maigh Cuilinn 17
S.N. Inis Meáin, Árainn 11
S.N. Chaomháin, Inis Oírr 11
S.N. Rónáin, Inis Mór 11
S.N. Eoin Pól II, Inis Mór 11
S.N. Iosef, Rathún 18
S.N. Tuairíní, Maigh Cuilinn 17
Scoil Mhuire, Maigh Cuilinn 17
S.N. Thulach Uí Chadhain, Maigh Cuilinn 17
Coláiste Mhuire, Tuar Mhic Éadaigh 09
Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiaráin 13
Coláiste Chroí Mhuire, An Spidéal 16
Coláiste Cholmcille, Indreabhán 16
Coláiste Naomh Eoin, Inis Meáin 11
Gairmscoil na bPiarsach, Rosmuc 14
Scoil Phobail Mhic Dara, Carna 14
Coláiste Naomh Feichín, Corr na Móna 15
Coláiste Naomh Éinne, Árainn 11
Coláiste Ghobnait, Inis Oírr 11


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service