Five notices published in relation to the Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas

The Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs, Joe McHugh T.D., announced today (Monday, 28 September 2015) that he has published five notices in relation to the Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas, as follows:

  • Tuaisceart Dhún na nGall;
  • Toraigh;
  • Oileáin Árann;
  • Maigh Eo Thuaidh; agus
  • Ráth Chairn agus Baile Ghib

The Minister of State said: “These notices officially commence the language planning process in these areas. This means that 18 notices have been made to date with only 8 remaining. This is another step forward in the implementation of the language planning process in the Gaeltacht.”

A period of up to two months from (25th September 2015) is afforded to organisations to apply to Údarás na Gaeltachta to be selected for the planning and implementation of language plans in the areas concerned. This means that organisations will have until the 20th. November 2015 to submit applications to Údarás na Gaeltachta.

A period of up to 2 years will be given from the date on which Údarás na Gaeltachta selects the organisation to submit a language plan to the Department for assessment in line with the prescribed language planning criteria.

Following that, the organisations will have a period of 7 years to implement the language plans with assistance from Údarás na Gaeltachta. The Department will periodically review the implementation of the plans during that 7 year period.



Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service