24/05/2013 – Minister Deenihan announces grant awards of €475,000 under Structures at Risk Fund, 2013

Minister Deenihan announces grant awards of €475,000 under Structures at Risk Fund, 2013

Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Jimmy Deenihan TD, today (Friday, May 24th), announced the awarding of grant funding to thirty-four local authorities under the Department’s Structures at Risk Fund 2013.

This funding is allocated to enable conservation works to forty-five heritage structures in both private and public ownership deemed to be at significant risk of deterioration and which are protected under the Planning and Development Acts 2000-2012.

Minister Deenihan commented:

“I am pleased to announce this funding to help support owners and occupiers of protected structures again in 2013 through my Department’s Structures at Risk Fund. Whilst the funding for built heritage is severely limited due to current budgetary constraints, the Structures at Risk Fund is a targeted investment in the most vulnerable aspects of our built heritage and will support some of Ireland’s most significant architectural, cultural, archaeological and historic buildings.”

This scheme, which has been in operation since 2011, has encouraged regeneration and reuse of heritage properties and helped to secure the preservation of protected structures which may otherwise have been lost. Including the properties to be supported in 2013 announced today, since the introduction of the scheme over 115 structures have secured funding.


Note to Editors:

Grant offers under Structures at Risk Fund 2013

File No Local Authority Structure Name Proposed Grant
SRF13/01 Carlow Borris House, Borris, Co. Carlow €8,000
SRF13/02 Carlow Huntington Castle, Clonegal, Co. Carlow €8,000
SRF13/04 Cavan The See House, Kilmore Upper, Co. Cavan €7,000
SRF13/03 Cavan Cavan Parish Church, Cavan Town €8,000
SRF13/05 Clare Oatfield Church, Sixmilebridge, Co. Clare €14,000
SRF13/08 Cork St Mary’s Collegiate Church, Youghal, Co. Cork €20,000
SRF13/07 Cork Officers House, Camden Fort Meagher, Cork Harbour, Crosshaven, Co. Cork €8,000
SRF13/10 Cork City Old Gaol Wall, Western Road, Cork City €10,000
SRF13/11 Donegal Brownhall, Ballintra, Co. Donegal, €9,000
SRF13/12 Donegal Church of the Sacred Heart (RC),
Dún Lúiche,
Gaoth Dobhair, Co. Donegal
SRF13/13 Dublin City 9/9a Aungiers Street, Dublin 2 €20,000
SRF13/14 Dublin City St Michael’s Church Bell Tower, Christ Church, Dublin 8 €8,000
SRF13/18 Fingal Old Kilbush House, Rush, Co. Dublin €8,000
SRF13/20 Galway Ballymore Castle, Laurencetown, Ballinasloe,

Co. Galway

SRF13/24 Kerry Old Carhan House, Cahirciveen, Co. Kerry €20,000
SRF13/25 Kildare Grey Abbey, Kildare Town, Co. Kildare €10,000
SRF13/26 Kilkenny Belline Rustic Lodge, Piltown, Co. Kilkenny €25,000
SRF13/27 Kilkenny The Bridewell, Logan’s Street, Thomastown,

Co. Kilkenny

SRF13/28 Laois Donaghmore Workhouse Dining Hall, Dunacleggan,

Co. Laois

SRF13/30 Leitrim Drumkeeran  Church (C of I), Drumkeerin, Co. Leitrim €8,000
SRF13/32 Limerick Fennessy’s Thatched Public House, Barrigone, Askeaton, Co. Limerick €8,000
SRF13/31 Limerick Caherconlish  Church (C of I), Barrack Street, Caherconlish, Co. Limerick €10,000
SRF13/33 Limerick City Irishtown Medieval House, Little Curry Street,

Limerick City

SRF13/34 Limerick City Shannon Rowing Club House, Wesley Pier,

Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick City

SRF13/36 Longford St George’s Church (C of I) , Kennagh, Co. Longford €10,000
SRF13/37 Louth Dromiskin Graveyard Wall, Dundalk, Co. Louth €10,000
SRF13/38 Louth Rathescar House, Dunleer, Co. Louth €6,000
SRF13/39 Mayo Ballinrobe Court House, Ballinrobe, Co. Mayo €8,000
SRF13/42 Meath Drewstown House, Forostown, Navan, Co. Meath €10,500
SRF13/41 Meath Belltower, St. James’ Church, Athboy, Co. Meath €7,000
SRF13/45 Offaly Summerhill House, Grann, Roscrea, Co. Offaly €5,500
SRF13/46 Roscommon 17th Century Church, Strokestown Park,

Co. Roscommon

SRF13/49 Sligo Temple House, Ballymote, Co. Sligo €10,000
SRF13/48 Sligo Sligo County Library, Stephen Street, Sligo Town €10,000
SRF13/51 South Dublin Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (RC), Gartars Lane, Saggart, Co. Dublin €8,000
SRF13/53 Tipperary North Lisbunny Church, Nenagh, Co. Tipperary €10,000
SRF13/52 Tipperary North Ardcroney Church & Tower, Ardcroney, Co. Tipperary €10,000
SRF13/55 Tipperary South Friary Church (RC), Clonmel, Co. Tipperary €10,000
SRF13/56 Waterford Curraghmore House, Portlaw, Co. Waterford €22,500
SRF13/57 Waterford Dromana Arch Gateway, Dromana, Co. Waterford €10,000
SRF13/58 Waterford City No 123a, Parade Quay, Waterford City €7,000
SRF13/60 Westmeath South Gate Lodge, Castledaly, Moate, Co. Westmeath €10,000
SRF13/61 Westmeath Killagh House, Raharney, Co. Westmeath €8,000
SRF13/63 Wexford St Patricks Medieval Church, Patrick Square,

Wexford Town

SRF13/65 Wicklow Nun’s Cross Church (C of I), Ashford, Co. Wicklow €10,000
Total €475,000

An Roinn Cultúir, Oidhreachta agus Gaeltachta, 23 Sráid Chill Dara,Baile Átha Cliath - D02 TD30 (01) 631 3800 / Íosghlao: 1890 383 000

Dearadh & Forbairt ag Fusio

Vision One Civil Service