Gaeltacht Service Towns

On foot of a consultation process conducted over the summer of 2014, the following towns have been selected as possible Gaeltacht Service Towns – conditional on language plans being agreed with the communities of the various towns in accordance with the prescribed language planning criteria under Acht na Gaeltachta 2012.

County Town
Donegal Letterkenny,An Clochán Liath (Dungloe) and Donegal Town.
Mayo Béal an Mhuirthead (Belmullet),Castlebar and Ballinrobe.
Galway Galway City and Clifden
Kerry Daingean Uí Chúis, Tralee and Cahersiveen
Cork Cork City and Macroom
Waterford Dungarvan
Meath Athboy and Navan


Notices have been published regarding, and plans are currently being prepared in respect of the following towns. See copy of the notices here: Liosta de fógraí na mBailte.

  • Daingean Uí Chúis;
  • An Clochán Liath;
  • Cathair na Gaillimhe;
  • Cathair Chorcaí
  • Leitir Ceanainn;
  • Trá Lí;
  • Dún Garbhán;
  • Caisleán an Bharraigh; and
  • Cathair Saidhbhín

It has been agreed with Foras na Gaeilge and Údarás na Gaeltachta that the process will soon commence in the following town:

  • Béal an Mhuirthead;

FAQs regarding Gaeltacht Service Towns

The Gaeltacht has a significant cultural and economic impact on the towns which serve it. Similarly, those towns have a significant impact on the Gaeltacht itself. Under the Gaeltacht Act 2012, Gaeltacht Service Towns are defined as those towns situated in or adjacent to Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas and which have a significant role in providing public services, recreational, social and commercial facilities for those areas. 26 Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas have been recognised for the purposes of the Act.

With regard to the Gaeltacht Service Towns, the purpose of the Gaeltacht Act is to identify how to foster and reinforce the positive impact these towns can have on the Irish language as the community and family language of the Gaeltacht.

The Act sets out the process by which Gaeltacht Service Towns can attain recognition as such. The town must:

  • be situated in or adjacent to a Gaeltacht Language Planning Area;
  • have a population of at least 1,000, according to the most recent census;
  • play a significant role in relation to providing public services and recreational, social and commercial facilities to the Gaeltacht community; and
  • have a significant and positive impact therefore on the status of the Irish language as the community and family language of the Gaeltacht area with which it is associated.

In addition, an organisation situated in the town must be chosen to prepare and implement a language plan in accordance with the language planning criteria prescribed in the Act.




Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service