Official Languages Act 2003

The Official Languages Act 2003 was signed into law on 14th July 2003. The primary objective of the Act is to ensure the improved provision of public services through the Irish language.

The Act provides for the delivery of public services in Irish in three ways:
• through provisions of the Act which are applicable to all public bodies under the Act;
• through regulations made by the Minister for ulture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht which again are applicable to all public bodies under the Act; and
• through language schemes which are agreed with individual public bodies which provide for an increase over time in the number and standard of services provided in Irish by these individual public bodies.

The Office of An Coimisinéir Teanga was established under the Act in 2004. The primary functions of the Office are to monitor compliance by public bodies with the provisions of the Act and to take appropriate measures to ensure such compliance.

Further information on the Act is available in the guidebook published by the Office of An Coimisinéir Teanga, which is available at
Official Languages Act 2003 – GUIDEBOOK(2,384 kb)

Further information on the Office of An Coimisinéir Teanga is available at www.coimisineir.ie.



Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service