Minister Humphreys announces almost €200k in funding for Local Authorities for Culture Night 2017


The Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Heather Humphreys TD, has today (Friday) announced almost €200,000 in funding for Local Authorities across the country to help them stage events for Culture Night 2017. While not every county applied for funding for 2017, it is anticipated that every county will participate across the island of Ireland and that events will once again take place overseas. Culture Night will be held on Friday 22nd September 2017.

The total budget for Culture Night 2017 is €350,000, which represents an increase of 40% on the 2016 budget, the highest level of investment in the event by the Department to date.

Speaking today Minister Humphreys said:

“Culture Night continues to be one of the most successful and magical evenings in the calendar where venues open their doors free of charge and the streets are filled with spectacular performances of culture and creativity.

“The evening dovetails with the Creative Ireland Programme which aims to increase access to and participation in cultural activity in every county. It is my strong belief that if we want to achieve this we need to ensure local events throughout the evening of Friday 22nd September are supported. I am delighted, therefore, to provide almost €200,000 in funding which is specifically aimed at facilitating events right across the country.

“Culture Night offers us all an opportunity to experience part of our unique, vibrant and increasingly diverse cultural offering.”




Note to Editors:

Please see below full list of local authorities funded:


  City/Town/Area Funding for 2017
1 Carlow County Council €6,000
2 Cavan County Council €8,000
3 Clare County Council €7,500
4 Cork City Council €10,000
5 Cork County Council €10,000
6 Donegal County / Letterkenny €7,500
7 Ealaín Na Gaeltachta Teoranta €7,000
8 Galway City  Council €10,000
9 Galway County Council €10,000
10 Kerry County Council €8,000
11 Kildare County Council €10,000
12 Kilkenny County Council €6,000
13 Laois County Council €4,500
14 Leitrim County Council €4,500
15 Limerick City and County Council €15,000
16 Longford County Council €3,000
17 Mayo County Council €6,500
18 Monaghan County Council €6,500
19 Offaly County Council €6,000
20 Oireachtas na Gaeilge €7,500
21 Roscommon County Council €3,000
22 Sligo – The Model €5,000
23 Tipperary County Council €6,000
24 Waterford City & Council €5,000
25 Westmeath County Council €5,000
26 Wexford County Council €6,000
27 Wicklow County Council €6,500
  TOTAL €190,000




Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service