Minister Humphreys appoints new Chair to Board of the Abbey Theatre

The Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, Heather Humphreys TD, has today (Wednesday) announced that she is appointing Dr Frances Ruane as the Chair of the Board of the Abbey Theatre. Dr Ruane will take up her appointment on May 22nd.

The appointment follows the public advertisement of the position on the Stateboards.ie website, to fill the vacancy left by Dr Bryan Mc Mahon, who completed his term as Chair earlier this year.

Dr Ruane was Director of the Economic and Social Research Institute for nine years until 2015. She has previously chaired a number of boards and committees, including the National Statistics Board, the Douglas Hyde Gallery Board and the Policy Institute at Trinity College.


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service