Minister Humphreys makes appointments to the Board of the Arts Council

The Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, Heather Humphreys TD, has today (Tuesday) announced that she has appointed six new ordinary members to the Board of the Arts Council.

The following appointments will come into effect immediately:

  • Damien Downes
  • Loughlin Deegan
  • Paddy Glackin
  • Martina Moloney
  • Pádraig Ó Duinnín
  • Helen Shaw

All of the appointees applied for the positions through www.stateboards.ie and were recommended through the Public Appointments Service as having the requisite skills requirement for the Board of the Arts Council. The appointments are for a term of five years.

The new appointees will join the existing members of the board who are:

  • Miriam Dunne
  • Brian Maguire
  • John Mc Auliffe
  • Emer O’Connor
  • Sheila Pratschke (Chair)
  • Monica Spencer
  • Joan Sheehy



Notes to Editor:

Summary biography of new members of the Board of Directors of the Arts Council:

Damien Downes: Former Chief Executive of the Kilkenny Arts Festival. Secretary and Registrar at the National College of Art and Design.

Loughlin Deegan: Director and Chief Executive of the Lir Academy. Former Director and Chief Executive at the Dublin Theatre Festival and former Executive Producer and Joint CEO, Rough Magic.

Paddy Glackin: Prominent traditional music performer for several decades. Former presenter of RTE Radio One’s traditional music programme, The Long Note. Held a number of senior roles in RTÉ broadcasting.

Martina Moloney:  Former Galway and Louth County Manager. Previously served on the audit committee on a number of State boards. Member of the board of the Galway International Arts Festival.

Pádraig Ó Duinnín: Director of Lumiere Events, Belfast and Newry. Former Acting Director at the Belfast Festival.

Helen Shaw: Managing Director of Athena Media. Former Managing Director of RTÉ Radio. Former Fellow at the Weatherhead Centre for International Affairs, Harvard University.


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service