Minister Humphreys makes appointments to the Board of the Irish Museum of Modern Art  

The Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Heather Humphreys TD, has indicated her intention to appoint Mr. David Harvey as Chair of the Irish Museum of Modern Art.

The Minister will also be appointing the following people as ordinary members of the Board immediately:

  • Mr Dermod Dwyer
  • Ms Penelope Kenny
  • Ms Mary Apied

The following appointments will be made as vacancies arise in January and early February 2016:

  • Mr Tim Scanlon
  • Mr Denis Hickie
  • Mr Declan Moylan
  • Ms Mary Mc Carthy

Appointment 3 February

  • Mr Gerard Byrne

The appointees applied for the positions through www.stateboards.ie and were recommended through the Public Appointments Service as having the requisite skills requirement for the Board of the Irish Museum of Modern Art. The appointments are for a term of 5 years.


Notes to Editor:

Biography of new members of the Board of Directors of IMMA

Mr David Harvey

David Harvey is a highly accomplished and widely experienced management professional in the fields of Television, Radio and Digital Media with exceptional leadership, commercial, production, communication and broadcasting skills.  In addition to being an experienced broadcaster he has held a number of key managerial, production and board positions over twenty-five years and has also been chosen to bring these skills as a non-executive chairman and director to a range of other non-broadcast related institutions and companies.

He is the Chief Executive of Circle Films Ltd, a company that produces high quality broadcast material for the commercial television sector, both domestically and internationally.  He was previously the Chairman of the National Library of Ireland from 2010 to 2015 and the Chairman of the St Patricks Festival from 2008 to 2014.

Mr Dermod Dwyer

Dermod Dwyer is the Executive Chairman of the Convention Centre, Dublin.  He was the founder of an international management consulting practice and was the lead consultant for large projects and studies in Ireland including the Croke Park Museum and Powerscourt Estate. He was also a former member of the Board of Governors and Guardians, National Gallery of Ireland.

Ms Penelope Kenny

Penelope Kenny is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland.  Since 2009 she has been Board member, Treasurer, and Head of the Finance and Audit Committee of Cluid Housing Association.  She holds a Masters in Cultural Policy and Arts management, and a diploma in Fine Art from NCAD.  Her consulting practice focuses on governance in arts organisations.

Ms Mary Apied

Mary Apied is the founding director and former President of the Trinity Foundation (the fund raising arm of Trinity College).  She is currently a member of the Board of the Landmark Trust.  Mary has over thirty years experience of fundraising for third level and non-profit organisation.

Mr Tim Scanlon

Tim Scanlon is a partner in Matheson and is the head of the Corporate Department.  He has published widely in the field of corporate law and corporate governance matters.  Tim has a keen interest and involvement with contemporary art in Ireland and is part of the team at Matheson which manages the Matheson Art collection.

Mr Denis Hickie

Denis Hickie is the Chief Executive of Enserve Renewables and a former Leinster (130 appearances), Ireland (62 Appearances) and British and Irish Lions Rugby International.  He is an experienced business development professional with a keen personal interest in art.

Mr Declan Moylan

Declan Moylan is a former managing partner and Chairman of Mason, Hayes and Curran.  He is an outgoing member of the Board of Directors of the Crawford Art Gallery Cork.  He has an extensive interest and engagement with contemporary art.

Ms Mary Mc Carthy

Mary McCarthy is a Director of the National Sculpture Factory, Cork, since April 2009.  She previously held the role of  Executive Arts Manager, Dublin Docklands Development Authority as well as being a Director of Programme /Deputy Director on the European City of Culture (Cork 2005) project.  Mary is currently chair of Culture Ireland and is currently on the Board of IMMA and this will be her second five year term.

Mr Gerard Byrne

Gerard Byrne has been Professor of Time-based Art at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Art, Copenhagen, since 2007. Previously he was an Assistant Lecturer in Fine Art at Limerick Institute of Technology, between 2000 – 2005.  His work is held in many public collections and he has exhibited widely.  He is amongst only a handful of Irish artists to have been selected for the Venice Biennale and Documenta Exhibition, the two most significant exhibitions globally.

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service