Minister Humphreys makes appointments to the Board of the National Gallery of Ireland

The Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, Heather Humphreys TD, has today (Tuesday) announced that she has appointed seven new ordinary members to the Board of the National Gallery of Ireland.

The following appointments will come into effect immediately:

  • Lynda Carroll
  • Michael Cush
  • Jacqueline Hall
  • Gary Jermyn
  • Ann Prendergast
  • Lesley Tully
  • Barney Whelan

All of the appointees applied for the positions through www.stateboards.ie and were recommended through the Public Appointments Service as having the requisite skills requirement for the Board of the National Gallery of Ireland.

The skills requirements identified included accountancy, business experience, corporate governance, strategic development, fundraising/PR and marketing and professional or academic. The appointments are for a term of 5 years.

The board will vote to elect a new Chairperson.

The new appointees will join the existing members of the board who are:

  • Stephen Mc Kenna (RHA nominee)
  • Vivienne Roche (RHA nominee)
  • Mick O’Dea (President of the RHA)
  • Bernie Brennan (Ex officio, RDS)
  • Matthew Dempsey (Ex officio, RDS)
  • Mary Daly (Prof) (Ex officio, President RIA)
  • Chairman of the OPW
  • Margaret Glynn
  • Mary Keane
  • Suzanne Mcdougald



Notes to Editor:

Biography of new members of the Board of Directors of the National Gallery of Ireland (NGI):

Lynda Carroll: Head of Capital Allocations and Risk Based Pricing at Allied Irish Banks, with 30 years experience in financial services. Chartered Accountant and Chartered Tax Advisor.

Michael Cush: Outgoing Chairman of the Board of the NGI and Chair of the Gallery’s Audit, Risk and Finance Committee. Barrister-at-Law, member of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers.

Jacqueline Hall: Consultant on Corporate Communications, Stakeholder Engagement and Government Affairs with over 25 years experience. President of the Public Relations Institute of Ireland.

Gary Jermyn: Member of the Development Committee of the NGI. Fellow of the Chartered Accountants in Ireland.

Ann Prendergast: Investment manager with State Street Global Advisors. Experienced in asset management, marketing, risk and compliance and business strategy.

Lesley Tully: Head of Design Thinking, Bank of Ireland. Former Project Director for VOLTA New York, VOLTA Basel and Dublin Contemporary 2011. Experience in fundraising, PR, marketing and philanthropy.

Barney Whelan: Director of Communications, Corporate Affairs, Brand Development and Marketing at An Post. Former board member of the National Concert Hall. Extensive experience in fundraising/PR, marketing, corporate governance and business management.

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service