Minister Humphreys publishes legislation to de-designate 46 NHAs

The Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, Heather Humphreys TD, has today (Wednesday) published legislation which will reconfigure the Raised Bog Natural Heritage Area (NHA) Network and allow for the de-designation of 39 raised bog Natural Heritage Areas (NHAs) and the part de-designation of 7 raised bog NHAs.

The publication of the legislation is identified as a 100 Day Action in the Programme for a Partnership Government.

Speaking today Minister Humphreys said:

“I recently announced my intention to bring forward this legislation, which is an important step forward in terms of securing a long term resolution for turf cutters, while also ensuring that Ireland meets its obligations under the Habitats Directive.

“This legislation will implement the recommendations of the Review of Raised Bog Natural Heritage Area Network, which was approved by Government in 2014. It concluded that Ireland could more effectively conserve threatened raised bog habitats through focused protection and restoration of a reconfigured network.

“The reconfiguration of the network will have many environmental benefits and will result in a greater area of protected bog habitat   being safeguarded than under the current network. To counteract the impact of de-designating the 46 NHAs, a further 25 bogs, which are in public ownership or where there is reduced turf cutting pressure will be designated as protected habitats.

“Under the reconfigured network, there will be approximately 2,500 fewer actively cut turf plots than currently. As a result of this legislation, we will have a more coherent network of natural heritage areas, which will better contribute to the conservation and restoration of raised bog habitats.”


Notes to Editor:

It is not proposed to identify the 25 bogs scheduled for designation until the relevant legal protections have been applied to them. These legal protections will be applied in parallel with the de-designation of the 46 NHAs.

Sites Proposed for De-Designation:

Natural Heritage Area (NHA) County
Annaghbeg Bog NHA Galway
Bella Bridge Bog NHA Roscommon
Black Castle Bog NHA Offaly
Bunnaruddee Bog NHA Kerry
Capira/Derrew Bog NHA Galway
Clonreher Bog NHA Laois
Cloonageeher Bog NHA Leitrim/Longford
Clooncullaun Bog NHA Galway
Cloonloum More Bog NHA Clare
Cloonoolish Bog NHA Galway
Cornaveagh Bog NHA Roscommon
Corracramph Bog NHA Leitrim
Crit Island West NHA Galway
Derrycanan Bog NHA Roscommon
Derrynagran Bog and Esker NHA Galway
Doon Lough NHA Clare
Eskerboy Bog NHA Galway
Forthill Bog NHA Longford
Funshin Bog NHA Galway
Hodgestown Bog NHA Kildare
Jamestown Bog NHA Meath
Killaclogher Bog NHA Galway
Killeen Bog NHA Tipperary
Killure Bog NHA Galway
Kilmore Bog NHA Galway
Kilnaborris Bog NHA Galway
Leaha Bog NHA Galway
Lisnanarriagh Bog NHA Roscommon
Lorrha Bog NHA Tipperary
Lough Namucka Bog NHA Galway/Roscommon
Meeneen Bog NHA Galway
Molerick Bog NHA Meath
Moorfield Bog NHA Galway
Nore Valley Bogs NHA Tipperary
Nure Bog NHA Westmeath
Screggan Bog NHA Offaly
Slieve Bog NHA Galway
Suck River Callows NHA Galway/Roscommon
Tullaghan Bog (Roscommon) NHA Roscommon

Sites proposed for Partial De-Designation

Natural Heritage Area (NHA) County
Ballynagrenia and Ballinderry Bog NHA Westmeath
Carrickynaghtan Bog NHA Roscommon
Castle Ffrench West Bog NHA Galway
Keeloges Bog NHA Galway
Lough Tee Bog NHA Galway
Rinn River NHA Leitrim/Longford
River Little Brosna Callows NHA Offaly/Tipperary

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service