Minister Madigan and the Chair of the Heritage Council, Michael Parsons announce €1m in funding for six Historic Towns

Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Josepha Madigan TD and Michael Parsons, Chair of the Heritage Council, today announced that six historic towns will share in €1million in capital funding under the Historic Towns Initiative 2019.

This follows a competitive process inviting local authorities to propose projects for heritage-led regeneration in one historic town in their area.The towns successful in this round of funding are:

  • Kilrush , Co. Clare
  • Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
  • Ballina, Co. Mayo
  • Navan, Co. Meath
  • Boyle, Co. Roscommon
  • Nenagh, Co. Tipperary

Speaking today, Minister Madigan said:

“I would like to congratulate the six successful towns that will benefit from the Historic Towns Initiative 2019. These towns have come through a very tough competitive process where all of the applications were of a very high standard. This funding will support the towns in their programmes of heritage-led regeneration and bring economic benefits to help our historic towns to prosper through increased visitor numbers and decreased numbers of vacant buildings and commercial premises.”

Virginia Teehan, the newly-appointed Chief Executive of the Heritage Council commented:

“The Heritage Council is very pleased to, once again, work in partnership with the Department to administer to Historic Towns Initiative in 2019. The programme is very much in line with Council’s aim to ensure that our heritage is managed and conserved to enrich the lives of people now and for the future. Each of the successful towns submitted a plan-led application with a clear vision, clearly achievable actions and the promise of strong public engagement. For this reason, we have full confidence that they will make a significant contribution to the heritage-led regeneration of their towns.”

Mr Parsons added

“It is wonderful to be in a position to support such a range of projects across the country. These projects, taken together, give a flavour of the variety of heritage inititaives that can be undertaken to care for and better present the narrative of our heritage townscapes. The Heritage Council is delighted that Minister Madigan has continued her strong support for this joint initiative of her Department and the Heritage Council in 2019. I hope that the success of this year’s round of projects will inspire others to explore the heritage potential of their towns in future years”.

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service