Minister Madigan announces appointments to the Board of Trustees of the Chester Beatty Library

The Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Ms Josepha Madigan TD, has today (4 July 2018) announced that she is appointing the following persons as members of the Board of Trustees of the Chester Beatty Library for a term of five years:

  • Ms Clare Duignan – Former Managing Director, RTÉ Radio.  Former member of the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland.
  • Mr David Gillett – Managing Partner, GBW Accountants.
  • Mr John Neary (with effect from 25 November 2018).  – Former Ambassador of Ireland to Japan and the Netherlands.

The appointments follow a public call for applications on www.Stateboards.ie and an assessment process undertaken by the Department with the assistance of the Library.



Notes for Editor:

The Chester Beatty Library is a public charitable trust established under the will of the late Sir Alfred Chester Beatty, which was granted probate in 1968.

The Library is governed and owned by a Board of Trustees appointed under the terms of the will of Sir Alfred Chester Beatty as modified by an order of the High Court of 16 December 1997.

The Library is the pre-eminent Irish institution promoting the appreciation and understanding of world cultures, and the engagement with the peoples whose cultures are represented in the Collections. The Library contains some of the finest treasures of the great cultures and religions of the world. The Collections were left in the care of a Trust for the benefit of the Irish people by Chester Beatty (1875–1968), who was a successful American mining engineer, collector and philanthropist.

The role of the Library is to protect, preserve and make available to the public in the form of exhibitions, popular publications, lectures and other events the heritage enshrined in the Collections and to provide the world of scholarship access to this internationally important resource.

The Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht can appoint 3 members of the Board of Trustees.

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service