Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs announces comprehensive language plan for Galway City.

The Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs, Seán Kyne T.D., announced today that a comprehensive language plan would be prepared and implemented for Galway City.

The Minister of State said: “Galway City is the first and only city to be part of the language planning process under the Gaeltacht Act 2012. Under the process a comprehensive language plan will be prepared and implemented for Galway City which will further underpin the significant work already in hand by a number of organisations to advance the language within the city. This plan will not only generate benefits for the language in the context of the cultural and commercial life of the city but also has the potential to put the language on a stronger footing in advance of 2020 when Galway becomes the European Capital of Culture.”

The Minister of State said that he hopes that all interested parties who can influence matters will play an active part in further strengthening the Irish language in Galway City in the interests of both the Irish language and the city.

Note for the Editor

On foot of a consultation process conducted in 2014 the following towns have been selected as possible Gaeltacht Service Towns provided language plans are agreed:

County Town
Donegal Letterkenny, An Clochán Liath and Donegal Town.
Mayo Béal an Mhuirthead, Castlebar and Ballinrobe.
Galway Galway City and Clifden
Kerry Daingean Uí Chúis, Tralee and Cahersiveen
Cork Cork City and Macroom
Waterford Dún Garbhán
Meath Athboy and Navan

In October and November 2016, notices were published under the Act in respect of Daingean Uí Chúis. Co Kerry and Letterkenny Co Donegal. This effectively starts the process to prepare and implement language plans for the towns.

A period of up to six weeks to 17th February 2017 will be afforded in this case to organisations to apply to Foras na Gaeilge to be selected for the planning and implementation of a language plan in the city.

A period of up to 2 years will be given from the date on which Foras na Gaeilge selects the organisation to submit a language plan to the Department for assessment in line with the prescribed language planning criteria. Following that, the organisation will have a period of 7 years to implement the language plan with assistance from Údarás na Gaeltachta or Foras na Gaeilge, as may be appropriate. The Department will periodically review the implementation of the plan during that 7 year period.

Further information on the language planning process is available on the Department’s website: www.ahrrga.gov.ie







Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service