Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs publishes notice under the language planning process regarding Letterkenny.

The Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs, Seán Kyne T.D., gave notice of his intention to designate the town of Letterkenny, Co. Donegal as a Gaeltacht Service Town, provided a language plan is agreed and implemented in the town.

The Minister of State said: “This notice officially commences the language planning process as it applies to Letterkenny. This means that Foras na Gaeilge will soon be selecting an organisation to prepare and implement a language plan for the town. This is the second town to commence preparation of a language plan under the language planning process, the first being Daingean Uí Chúis in respect of which the process started on the 10th of October.”

The Minister of State said that he hopes that all interested parties who can influence matters will play an active part in further strengthening the Irish language in Letterkenny in the interests of both the Irish language and the town.


Note for the Editor

On foot of a consultation process conducted in 2014 the following towns have been selected as possible Gaeltacht Service Towns provided language plans are agreed and satisfactorily implemented:

County Town
Donegal Letterkenny, An Clochán Liath and Donegal Town.
Mayo Béal an Mhuirthead, Castlebar and Ballinrobe.
Galway Galway City and Clifden
Kerry Daingean Uí Chúis, Tralee and Cahersiveen
Cork Cork City and Macroom
Waterford Dún Garbhán
Meath Athboy and Navan

Foras na Gaeilge are working to begin the process in Galway City as soon as possible.

A period of up to one month to 11 December will be afforded in this case to organisations to apply to Foras na Gaeilge to be selected for the planning and implementation of a language plan in the town.

A period of up to 2 years will be given from the date on which Foras na Gaeilge selects the organisation to submit a language plan to the Department for assessment in line with the prescribed language planning criteria. Following that, the organisation will have a period of 7 years to implement the language plan with assistance from Foras na Gaeilge in this case. The Department will periodically review the implementation of the plan during that 7 year period.

Further information on the language planning process is available on the Department’s website:  www.ahrrga.gov.ie




Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service