Minister of State Kyne to launch a language plan for An Cheathrú Rua at An Cheathrú Rua Fair

Minister of State for the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands Seán Kyne will launch a Language Plan for An Cheathrú Rua tomorrow (5 October) at an event in An Crompán to bring the implementation of the Language Plan in the An Cheathrú Rua area to the attention of the community.

Comharchumann Mhic Dara as lead-organisation was responsible for compiling the plan for an Cheathrú Rua. The Department approved the Plan in October 2018 and a Language Planning Officer – Majella Ní Chríocháin – has since been employed to implement the plan in the community under the guidance of an Comharchumann.

The Minister of State said: I would like to congratulate Comharchumann Mhic Dara and everyone involved in putting this plan together for the An Cheathrú Rua area. Like other plans being implemented, the language plan for An Cheathrú Rua will give the community an opportunity to play a central role in the additional efforts needed to ensure the Irish language is passed on to future generations.

Further Information

Of the 26 Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas, 16 plans have been approved to date – with five of those located in the Galway Gaeltacht, An Cheathrú Rua included.

  • Cois Fharraige;
  • Gaoth Dobhair, Rann na Feirste, Anagaire & Loch an Iúir;
  • Cloch Chionnaola, Gort an Choirce, An Fál Carrach & Machaire Rabhartaigh;
  • Na Déise;
  • Múscraí;
  • South Kerry;
  • Dúiche Sheoigheach & Tuar Mhic Éadaigh;
  • West Kerry;
  • North Mayo;
  • Árainn Mhór;
  • An Cheathrú Rua;
  • Conamara Lár;
  • Ráth Chairn & Baile Ghib;
  • South Donegal.
  • North Donegal

5 other plans are currently being assessed – Maigh Cuilinn, Co Galway; plans for Irish Language Networks in Clondalkin, Loughrea and Ennis; and a plean for a Gaeltacht Service Town in Daingean Uí Chúis, Co. Kerry.

The Department expects that up to 23 plans will be approved in total under the process before the end of the year.

10 Language Planning Officers and 3 Assistant Language Planning Officers have been employed to date to implement the plans.

Service Towns and Irish Language Networks

The process pertaining to the drawing up of plans for Gaeltacht Service Towns is in progress for the following towns: Letterkenny, An Clochán Liath, Tralee, Dungarvan, Castlebar, Cahersiveen and Galway City and Cork City.

A comprehensive outline of what has been done and is planned to benefit the Irish language and the Gaeltacht is given in the Government’s Action Plan 2018-2022 for the Irish Language – which is available at the following link: https://www.chg.gov.ie/app/uploads/2018/06/ghaeltacht_report_screen.pdf

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service