20/02/2015 : Four notices published in relation to the Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas

Friday, 20th February 2015—The Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs, Joe McHugh T.D., announced today (20th February 2015) that he has published four notices in relation to the Gaeltacht Language Planning Areas, as follows:

  • Árainn Mhór, Co. Donegal
  • Dúiche Sheoigheach and Tuar Mhic Éadaigh, Co. Galway and Co. Mayo, respectively
  • Conamara Láir, Co Galway and
  • Múscraí, Co. Cork

The Minister of State said: “I am delighted to publish these notices under section 7(3) of the Gaeltacht Act 2012. These notices officially commence the language planning process in these areas. This is another step forward in the implementation of the language planning process in the Gaeltacht.”

Organisations will have a period of up to two months from today (20th February 2015) to apply to Údarás na Gaeltachta to be selected for the planning and implementation of language plans in the areas concerned. This means that organisations will have until the 17th April 2015 to submit applications to Údarás na Gaeltachta.

A period of up to 2 years will be given from the date on which Údarás na Gaeltachta selects the organisation to submit a language plan to the Department for assessment in line with the prescribed language planning criteria.

Following that, the organisations will have a period of 7 years to implement the language plans with assistance from Údarás na Gaeltachta. The Department will periodically review the implementation of the plans during that 7 year period.

Further information on the language planning process is available on the Department’s website: https://www.chg.gov.ie/en/20-YearStrategyfortheIrishLanguage2010-2030/LanguagePlanningProcess/.


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service