Three Language Planning Areas announced by Minister of State for the Gaeltacht, Joe McHugh T.D.

Government Chief-Whip and Minister of State for the Irish language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands, Joe McHugh T.D., today (29 August 2017) announced the commencement of the language planning process in the following three Gaeltacht language planning areas: Bearna and Cnoc na Cathrach, Galway City East and An tEachréidh.

“The commencement shortly of the preparation of language plans in the three Gaeltacht areas in the eastern part of the Galway Gaeltacht,” Minister of State McHugh said, “means that the language planning process is now underway in all Gaeltacht areas.  It’s a great achievement that the Gaeltacht communities involved in this process have taken it upon themselves to prepare language plans for their areas.  It shows how committed these communities are to carrying forward their native language to the next generation and I congratulate them on the amount of work they have done to date.”


Note to the editor

Of the 23 Gaeltacht language planning areas recognised under the Gaeltacht Act 2012, the process has commenced in 23 areas to date and with this announcement the process will have commenced in the final three areas, Bearna and Cnoc na Cathrach, Galway City East and An tEachréidh.

The Department has received three plans to date, the language plans of Gaoth Dobhair, Cloich Chionnaola and Cois Fharraige, and it is envisaged that plans for the following areas will be submitted to the Department for approval under the Gaeltacht Act between now and the end of the year:

  • West Kerry
  • South Kerry
  • Na Déise
  • An Cheathrú Rua
  • Múscraí
  • Ceantar na nOileán
  • Dúiche Sheoigheach and Tuar Mhic Éadaigh
  • Conamara Láir

With regard to the Gaeltacht Service Towns, Údarás na Gaeltachta will use the allocation of €735,000 to advance the process  during the current year as it relates to the preparation of language plans in the following Gaeltacht Service Towns: Daingean Uí Chúis, Béal an Mhuirthead and An Clochán Liath.

Foras na Gaeilge will use an allocation of €115,000 sanctioned for them to advance the language plan preparation process this year in Galway City, Cork City, Letterkenny, Tralee and Dungarvan. The funds will also be used to prepare plans for the following Irish-language Networks: Clondalkin; Ennis, Co. Clare and Loughrea, Co. Galway.

In addition to the language planning fund above, the broad programme of schemes, measures and initiatives – funded from the Exchequer – will continue to be implemented by the Department, Údarás na Gaeltachta and Irish-language organisations, which will act as a continual support for the language planning process.

Language plans will involve a 7-year implementation period and it is generally intended to carry out an interim review on each language plan in year 3 and a final review in year 6 of the implementation.

Gaeltacht Service Towns:

  • Daingean Uí Chúis (Údarás)
  • Béal an Mhuirthead (Údarás)
  • An Clochán Liath (Údarás)
  • Galway City (Foras)
  • Cork City (Foras)
  • Letterkenny (Foras)
  • Tralee (Foras)
  • Dungarvan (Foras)

Irish-Language Networks:

  • Clondalkin
  • Ennis, Co. Clare
  • Loughrea, Co. Galway


Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, 23 Kildare Street, Dublin , D02 TD30. Tel: 01 631 3800 / LoCall: 1890 383 000

Web Design & Development by Fusio

Vision One Civil Service